Holland Park Non-Stop

Holland Park Non-Stop

Holland Park Non-Stop by the Frank Griffith Big Band

2010 live recording by the US tenor saxophonist, clarinettist and arranger Frank Griffith who leads his big band in a set of classic jazz standards and self-penned originals. Acclaimed vocalist Tina May joins them for three numbers – “Oh You Crazy Moon”, “That’s All” and “Travellin’ Light”. American-born Griffith has been living and working in the UK since 1996. As well as a practising musician he is an imposing presence on the local jazz education scene and is Director of Performance in the School of Arts at Brunel University. In New York in the 1980s he played in the big bands led by pianist Toshiko Akiyoshi and drummer Mel Lewis. Personnel: Frank Griffith (clarinet, tenor sax, arranger), Tony Dixon, Freddie Gavita, Steve Fishwick, Ed Benstead (trumpets), Adrian Fry, Simon Walker, Mattias Eskilsson, Roger Williams (trombones), Sam Mayne, Matt Wates (alto sax, flute), Bob Sydor, Karen Sharp (tenor sax, clarinet), Richard Shepherd (baritone sax, bass clarinet), John Turville (piano), Spencer Brown (bass), Matt Home (drums), Tina May (vocals)


(4 stars) A superior big band album; crammed full of fine writing, lovely vocals and solid swing. — Jazzwise, (Peter Vacher), September 2011

(4 stars) Griffith’s 17-piece band is refreshingly unbrassy, its arrangements longer on swing and musicality…a strong line-up. — Evening Standard, (Jack Massarik), August 12, 2011

An approach that’s both classic and fresh…sounds newly minted thanks to Griffith’s masterly and at times mischievous clarinet playing. — Herald Scotland, (Rob Adams), July 31, 2011

Combining the best of the tradition with a modern approach and some crisp soloing…the whole disc is a joy. Listen! — Jazz Journal, (Derek Ansell), September 2011


Posted on

30th December 2016